Should I Stay or Should I Go?

Indiana has a system of retention votes for judges on the Court of Appeals.  It’s not a vote for a candidate, though. It’s more like a referendum on whether that judge should stay put — like a parliamentary “no confidence” vote.  Usually, all the judges retain their positions with varying levels of confidence.Weighing your options...

I often get asked after an election, “Should I have voted to retain that judge?  I didn’t know anything about any of them!”  This can lead to a voting-ignorance guilt trip.  But NOW is the time to nip that suffrage suffering in the bud.  Click here to learn more about the judicial districts that the judges hail from and click here to learn more about the judges up for retention votes this year.

Author: T. Andrew Perkins

I have practiced law in Rochester since 2001. My practice is varied: appellate law; general civil litigation; real estate; family law; and probate and estate planning. I am an active member in the Peru Grace Brethren Church. I have also served on the boards of various community organizations, including: Fulton County Community Foundation, Fulton County Leadership Academy, Fulton County United Way, Rochester Kiwanis Club, Fulton County Council on Aging, and the Fulton County Chamber of Commerce. You can reach my office from the Links page.

Leave a Reply

